Smashing Keys

Yes, I am still here. I’ve been hiding from my blog since June. Every now and then it whispers that it would really like a little dusting. Something to eat. Or drink. A spot of attention, please…

I could say I’ve been busy. That I’ve been editing my next novel. Preparing a presentation. Researching. Learning at a workshop. Starting my new novel. Giving a workshop. Procrastinating.

Or I could just say sorry and get on with it.

So here’s a quick post about the weekend I just spent with a lovely group of talented writers.

The writers group ‘Keysmash’ invited me to give a 2-day workshop in the Gers (France) on 1 & 2 December.

This was all thanks to Ginster, who I met at the Parisot literary festival last year.

I was warmly welcomed by Rosie, along with her dogs and horses, and then we spent two days working hard with eight members of her writing group. Unfortunately, Ginster was ill and couldn’t attend.

Each of the group members sent me a piece of writing to critique beforehand, and we established their needs based on this work. I planned three separate workshops: Focus on Prose, Starting Stories and Building Scenes. I also gave each of them individual feedback on their finished stories.

I can’t believe how incredibly hard they all worked! Not only did they write some fab prose, they also were willing to rip everything apart and play by the ‘new’ rules I introduced. They even laughed at my jokes.

Keysmash is an inspiring example of how supportive a writing group can be – and not only in terms of their writing.

I hope everyone had fun and found something useful to take away from their weekend. I certainly did.

 

4 thoughts on “Smashing Keys

    1. harrietspringbett Post author

      Thanks for dropping by, Jacqui. The top came from Hima in Cognac, several years ago. It’s a bit small for me now, but I love it too. And, yes, life has to take priority over blogging.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Rosemary McCALL

    we had a great time with Harriet, although I think we were all brain dead by the end of the weekend, she is a very hard if inspiring task master. she certainly drove home the difference between anecdotes and stories. She came, she inspired, she went. a short story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.